Our Team

Meet The Foundation Staff

Susan True

Chief Executive Officer

In her role as Chief Executive Officer of Community Foundation Santa Cruz County, Susan continues her lifelong commitment to work that improves lives and strengthens communities. Contact her at 831.662.2010 or email strue@cfscc.org.

Community Engagement and Impact

Kevin Heuer

Director of Engagement & Impact

Ana Espinoza

Program Officer

Philanthropic Services

Sam Leask

Philanthropic Services Director

Robin Larsen

Donor Services Officer

Danu Schoeck

Philanthropic Services Associate

Alexa Klingler

Philanthropic Services Associate

Finance and Administration

Susan Farrar

Chief Operating and Financial Officer

Alexandra Urbick


Debbie Rivera

Finance Associate

Nallely Martinez

Operations Manager

Lisa Eissmann

Front Office Administrative Assistant

Katy Souza

Administrative Assistant

Meet Our Board Leadership

President, Marilyn Calciano

Vice President (retired), Morgan Stanley

Vice President, Freny Cooper

Chief Operating Officer, Monterey Bay Economic Partnership

Secretary, Julie Haff

Superintendent (retired), San Lorenzo Valley Unified School District

Treasurer, David Doolin

Partner, Petrinovich Pugh & Co LLP

Emily Buchbinder, Esq.

Attorney,Law Office of Emily J. Buchbinder

Liliana Diaz

Family Law Attorney, The Grunsky Law Firm

Larry Donatoni

Senior Director for Development, Santa Clara University

Judy Franich

Community volunteer & retired school teacher

Janet Heien

Director of Human Resources (retired), Driscoll's

Fred Keeley

Former Speaker Pro Tempore, California State Assembly

Carlos Palacios

County Administrative Officer, County of Santa Cruz

Tonée Picard

Executive VP/ Chief Development Officer, Bay Federal Credit Union

Rogelio Ponce Jr.

Owner, Sun Valley Berries LLC

Sandy Skees

EVP/Global Lead, Innovation & Impact Practice, Porter Novelli

Kirk Schmidt

Executive Director, Central Coast Water Quality Preservation, Inc.

Trevor Strudley

Certified Financial Planner, Raymond James Financial Services

Jim Weisenstein

Director, Lighthouse Bank

Board Committees


Meets at the call of the president to conduct the business of the Board between regular or special Board meetings.

  • Marilyn Calciano, President
  • Freny Cooper, Vice President
  • David Doolin, Treasurer
  • Julie Haff, Secretary
  • Larry Donatoni
  • Janet Heien

Reviews quarterly investment performance and financial statements, sets investment policy, monitors and approves investment allocations, selects financial advisors, advises the board on budgetary issues, spending policies, fees, impact investments and makes recommendations to the board on finance and gift acceptance policies and procedures.

  • David Doolin, chair
  • Fred Keeley
  • Pat Kelly*
  • Kirk Schmidt
  • Trevor Strudley
  • Jim Thompson*
  • Jim Weisenstein
  • Lance Wexler*

Learn More

Gift Acceptance

Advises on considering, accepting or rejecting any and all gifts or bequests to the Foundation that cannot be accepted by the Chief Executive Officer, the Chief Operating and Financial Officer, or the Philanthropic Services Director in accordance with the gift acceptance policy.

  • Jim Thompson*, chair
  • Tom Brezsny*
  • Larry Donatoni
  • David Doolin
  • Dina Hoffmann*
  • Victoria Viso*

Oversees the internal accounting, accuracy and integrity of the financial accounting, disclosure controls and assess management risk, in communication with an independent auditor. They also maintain independence, manage the auditor, handle complaints and engage third-party advisors when necessary, including the retention and termination of the independent auditor.

  • Carlos Palacios, chair
  • Rob Allen*
  • Rob Bremner*
  • Jim Thompson*

Learn More


Sets direction for grants program, identifies funding priorities, reviews and recommends proposals for funding, and participates in site visits.

  • Freny Cooper, co-chair
  • Julie Haff, co-chair
  • Liliana Diaz
  • Cynthia Druley*
  • Judy Franich
  • Janet Heien
  • Rogelio Ponce
  • Jim Weisenstein

Learn More

Nominating and Board Development

Identifies and recruits new board members, develops and implements ongoing board training and assessment programs.

  • Janet Heien, chair
  • Emily Buchbinder
  • Freny Cooper
  • David Doolin
  • Trevor Strudley

Recommends policies and oversees scholarship administration. Selects the scholarship recipients.

  • Donna Ziel*, chair
  • Emily Buchbinder
  • Liliana Diaz
  • Judy Franich

Learn More

Impact Investment

Creates policies and loan criteria, provides portfolio oversight, and reviews potential impact investments

  • Trevor Strudley, chair
  • Freny Cooper
  • David Doolin
  • Pat Fitz*
  • Eric Mendelson*
  • Michael O'Farrell*
  • Jim Weisenstein

Learn More

Diversity Partnership

Reviews proposal for the Diversity Partnership Fund and recommends funding to enhance services for the LGBTQ community, and creates and builds alliances.

  • *Jim Brown, chair
  • * Ami Ebright
  • Damian Maldonado*
  • Rabbi Paula Marcus*
  • Mitch Medina*
  • Erica Murphy*
  • Sandy Skees
  • Chris Weir*

Learn More

* Non-board members
Non board members are invited to share their time and expertise on our standing and ad hoc committees.

Honorary Trustees

Jack Baskin - Director Emeritus
William Locke-Paddon - Director Emeritus
Ian McPhail - Director Emeritus
Jess Brown
Ceil Cirillo
Nell Sesnon Cliff
Diane Porter Cooley
George Couch III
Deidre Hamilton
Mary Hammer
Harold Hyde
Samuel Leask IV
Fred McPherson III
Ralph Miljanich
Harvey Nickelson
Martina O’Sullivan
Richard G. Polse
Rowland Rebele
J. Miles Reiter
Norman Schwartz

Deceased Honorary Trustees

Georgia Brauer
Nancy Driscoll
Margaret Lezin
Lorraine Litchfield
Dean McHenry
Gurden Mooser
Mary Ann Borina Radovich
Alan Simpkins
Richard Solari
Don Starr
Robert E. Swenson
Gloria Hihn Welsh
Tanner Wilson
Betsy Woolpert
Florence Wyckoff