Welcoming New Board Leadership, Honorary Trustees

Dec 11, 2019

The Community Foundation is pleased to announce new Board of Trustees leadership for 2020.

We welcome Chris Murphy to a three-year term beginning Jan. 1, 2020. Former Board Members Dina Hoffman and Rachel Wedeen joined our esteemed panel of Honorary Trustees. Marilyn Calciano has led our Board since 2018, and served us since 2010. Her boundless energy, generous spirit, and ability to bring people together contributed to many successes, including chairing the Search Committee that led to hiring CEO Susan True. Marilyn’s tenure will continue as Immediate Past President for 2020. We’re pleased to welcome current Board Treasurer David Doolin as our newest Board President.

The Community Foundation has been partnering with community members, nonprofits, businesses, and local government to invest in the health, safety, and enrichment of our community for almost 40 years. Nearly $100 million in grants and scholarships have been awarded locally.

Philanthropic community partnerships are the driving force behind our work, enabling us to carry out our mission which is to bring together people, ideas, and resources to inspire philanthropy and accomplish great things. The Foundation’s 18 member Board of Trustees stewards its strategic grantmaking and special initiatives as well as the growth of its philanthropic assets to benefit Santa Cruz County now, and in the future.

About Chris Murphy

Chris Murphy is in his fifth season as the President of the Santa Cruz Warriors, the NBA G League affiliate of the Golden State Warriors. Chris led their front office efforts to win the 2017-18 NBA G League Franchise of the Year award.

Chris began his career in the Golden State Warriors organization in June 2005 as a group sales account executive. Throughout 10 seasons with Golden State he progressed and served in multiple capacities within the ticket sales management group, last serving as senior director of group ticket sales before transitioning to Santa Cruz.

Chris serves as a Board Member for the Santa Cruz Chamber of Commerce and the Santa Cruz Museum of Art and History. He is also a member of the Rotary Club of Santa Cruz.

About Dina Hoffman

Dina Hoffman has been an estate planning attorney in Santa Cruz County for 34 years. Dina delights in helping even those new to philanthropy find they can leave a legacy behind in their estate plan.

She served on the Community Foundation’s Board from 2008-2016, including acting as Chair of our Philanthropic Services, Professional Advisors, and Gift Acceptance Committees. Dina was instrumental in the planning of our Fund for Women and Girls endowment. She is also a Legacy Society member.

Dina earned the Roland K. Hall Award from the Santa Cruz Bar Association for her exceptional service to the community. As a pro-bono presenter of Community Foundation donor education seminars, she’s educated hundreds of locals on Memorandums of Charitable Intent and Wills and Living Trusts.

About Rachel Wedeen

Rachel is Executive Director of the Wedeen Hammer Group at Morgan Stanley Wealth Management. She is a fully licensed investment professional and earned her Certified Financial Planner® designation in 1986. She has more than 38 years of experience in her field.

Rachel’s community involvement is extensive and includes past service as President of the Community Foundation’s Board of Directors. Rachel was a founding member of our Community Advisor Network and is a member of the Community Foundation’s Legacy Society. Her efforts have contributed greatly to the success of our Fund for Women and Girls endowment.

She currently serves on the boards of Hospice of Santa Cruz County and Catamaran Literary Reader. She’s also served as a trustee to Cabrillo College Foundation, Dominican Hospital Foundation, Cultural Council of Santa Cruz County, Planned Parenthood, Big Brothers Big Sisters, and Soroptimist International of Santa Cruz.

Learn more about our Board and staff.

Meet our team