2020 - 2021 Scholarship Recipients

Celebrating Student Achievement

While the graduating Class of 2020 in Santa Cruz County was celebrating via virtual ceremonies and socially distant car parades, the Community Foundation honored the achievements of 25 remarkable students with scholarships established by generous and forward thinking donors.

“Our scholarship donors never would have predicted a global pandemic or it’s terrible economic ramifications. Yet, in the midst of these extraordinarily challenging times, the gift of supporting education for the next generation is even more important,” said Foundation CEO Susan True. “As we celebrate the scholastic excellence of our award recipients, we also honor the power of these donors and their foresight to create endowed funds to enable scholarships in this pandemic - and forever.”

Meet the 25 local students who received scholarships through Community Foundation Santa Cruz County.

Barbara J. Thompson Scholarship

Noely Escalante-Lopez, Soquel High School
Lane Ilstrup,
Cypress Charter High School
Phoenyx Nist-Ferrare, Cypress Charter High School
Reyna Ponce,
Pajaro Valley High School

Bob and Betsy Darrow Scholarship

Jalie Edgemon, San Lorenzo Valley High School
Chloe Palmer, San Lorenzo Valley High School
Isabelle Triulzi,
San Lorenzo Valley High School

Lillian Burton Scholarship

Bethany Lopez Rojas, Soquel High School
Isaac Wallace-Menge, San Lorenzo Valley High School

Emmett and Elsie Geiser Scholarship

Colby Gonzalez, Aptos High School
Omar Salazar,
Pajaro Valley High School
Jacob Sandler, Aptos High School

Ernest Cowell Scholarship

Ella Borsodi, Harbor High School

Hank Garcia Jr. and Family Scholarship

Jared Kiser, Aptos High School
Luz Lopez-Reyes, Watsonville High School
Brianna Melgoza-Ortiz, Pajaro Valley High School
Adam Tangonan, Pajaro Valley High School
Vianey Villanueva-Vega, Watsonville High School

Jack DeBord Memorial Scholarship

RJ Kindred, San Lorenzo Valley High School

John L. Turner Scholarship

Ulises Lobato, Pajaro Valley High School

Judy Anton Woman of Valor / Lupita Loves to Read Project Scholarship

Lucia Meza, Harbor High School

Louis J. and Mary Ellen Schultz Scholarship

Kieran Kahoano, Santa Cruz High School
Morgan Ohana,
Santa Cruz High School

R.H. Beel Memorial Scholarship

Makai Norman, Santa Cruz High School

Simunovich Family Agriculture Scholarship

Belen Vargas Abarca, Watsonville High School

Learn more about our scholarship program.

Learn more